Thursday, March 5, 2009

South Asia Fun Facts

South Asia is home to around a fifth of world population.

The largest spoken language in this region is now Hindu.

South Asia typically consists of India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Maldives, and British Indian Ocean Territory. Some definitions may also include Afghanistan, Myanmar, Tibet, and Iran.

The climate of the region is called the Monsoon climate.

Covered in carved white marble, the ornamentation of the Taj Mahal includes verses from the Koran, the sacred text of Islam.

Nepal and Bhutan are both located in the Himalayas.

The Himalayan Region contains 202 mountains rising to more than 18,000 feet, and 13 mountains rising more than 24,000 feet.

The highest peak in the Himalayan Region is Mt. Everest at 29,035 feet above sea level.

Sir Edmund Hillary and Tenzing Norgay were the first climbers to reach the summit of Mt. Everest in 1953.

The first great civilization of South Asia developed along the banks of the Indus River more than 4,000 years ago.